Learning Thai: The PM’s tears – ก็ต้องเรียนว่า (Bangkok Post)


Thai transcript (by Archarn Sunee Khaenyuk)

ก็ต้องเรียนว่า…..เป็นความรู้สึกที่ถามเป็นใคร ก็เชื่อว่าทุกคนคงจะมีความรู้สึกนะคะ ไม่ใช่ว่าดิฉันจะไม่มีความรู้สึก  ดิฉันได้ฟังมาตลอดต่อการร้องขอของผู้ชุมนุม  การที่กล่าวถึงทั้งตระกูลนั้น ดิฉันถือว่าเราเป็นคนไทยด้วยกัน  เราถึงขนาดไม่ให้อยู่บนแผ่นดินไทยด้วยกันเลยหรือ เราจะเป็นกันอย่างนี้หรือ ดิฉันก็ถอยจนไม่รู้ว่าจะถอยอย่างไรแล้ว ก็ขอความเป็นธรรมด้วย ขอบคุณค่ะ

English translation

I’d like to say….it’s a feeling that if you ask anyone, I believe everyone would probably have it. It is not that I don’t have feelings.

I have heard the calls/demands of the protesters from the beginning…the fact that they have referred to the whole family (i.e., my family, the Shinawatra extended family). I believe we are all Thais. Has it reached the point where we won’t be allowed to stay on Thai soil together? We are going to be like this, are we? I have stepped back (retreated) to the point where I don’t know how to step back any further. I appeal for fairness. Thank you.

Thai PM Shinawatra at Asia Society 19
Thai PM Shinawatra at Asia Society 19 (Photo credit: Asia Society)

Laisser un commentaire

